Amsterdam M5

General discussions

Moderator: senjer

User avatar
Michiel
Site Admin
Posts: 2208
Joined: 11 Sep 2011, 13:32

Re: Amsterdam M5

Post by Michiel »

MakeMetroMarvelous wrote: 12 Jun 2021, 18:50 What lines will they serve?
Probably none, the metro's of Amsterdam are actually a bit wider so they won't fit on existing lines in the simulator (well they will work as there is no physics simulation, but it will probably look wrong).
trains 500
Posts: 205
Joined: 05 Jun 2020, 15:07

Re: Amsterdam M5

Post by trains 500 »

^^ which must mean 1 of 2 things

A- rijndam m4 is getting a massive new overhaul with wider tunnels (a lot of money for the company)
B- we are getting the m5 Amsterdam line
My youtube channel containing several Metro sim videos https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCep1Mi ... sBZ9B0lwWA
User avatar
Sjoerd
Posts: 5068
Joined: 26 Dec 2014, 21:14
Location: Leiden

Re: Amsterdam M5

Post by Sjoerd »

Indeed; during my first test with a platform edge (which I did in an early stage as I know the Amsterdam metro's are wider then Rotterdam metro's, on which the simulator is based) I did find out the edge of the carriages cut into the platform edges.
But as this train shouldn't require all new routes to be modified to be usable, I just did what every train manufacturer does; modify the vehicle design a bit to fit the target infrastructure.

The modifications;
  • Removed a small black strip from the outside of the doors to get a few cm more clearance.
  • Made the whole vehicle 2% narrower.
The result; it 'just' fits along the platforms in the sim now. Only if there is a curved platform, you might still have a problem :D

Image

As a matter of fact; the first two screenshots in this topic are without the modification, the 3rd one is with the modification. Would you know the difference if I hadn't told you? ;)
CEO of the Rijndam Electrical Transport company :D
i play MSB all day
Posts: 104
Joined: 15 Aug 2020, 14:17

Re: Amsterdam M5

Post by i play MSB all day »

i dont know what it is but something about the texture of the m4 display to the left of the front windscreen looks great. well done sjoerd.
trains 500
Posts: 205
Joined: 05 Jun 2020, 15:07

Re: Amsterdam M5

Post by trains 500 »

Seen on a M6 to Tropicana this morning advertising Rijndam Metros new toys coming soon.......... :lol: :shock:
Image
My youtube channel containing several Metro sim videos https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCep1Mi ... sBZ9B0lwWA
User avatar
RSG3
Posts: 255
Joined: 24 Apr 2020, 19:55

Re: Amsterdam M5

Post by RSG3 »

Sjoerd wrote: 12 Jun 2021, 20:08 In order to keep the aspect ratio correct.... The grey area's under the windows (between the doors) could perfectly fit a texture file of 1000x256 pixels (or multiples of that.... as long as the 'with x height' ratio stays the same). ;)
Alright, I'll start working on it soon.
User avatar
Sgt_DeBones
Posts: 499
Joined: 05 Apr 2019, 15:23
Location: Los Angeles & Sacramento, California
Contact:

Re: Amsterdam M5

Post by Sgt_DeBones »

That loading gauge makes that M5 a T H I C C boi
Mauno Atlis advocate
COVID free since March... or April. Who cares, I recovered since.
WW3 is near
Polete06
Posts: 49
Joined: 28 Jun 2020, 14:50

Re: Amsterdam M5

Post by Polete06 »

train have real sounds?
User avatar
Sjoerd
Posts: 5068
Joined: 26 Dec 2014, 21:14
Location: Leiden

Re: Amsterdam M5

Post by Sjoerd »

Update: passengerview positions have been installed, and the internal destination displays, linenumber displays, and (changeable) route diagrams;

Image

Image

Image

@Polete06: not known yet. I do have some sound files, but I have not taken the time yet to see how usefull they are.
CEO of the Rijndam Electrical Transport company :D
perfecttrains1000
Posts: 398
Joined: 30 Apr 2018, 17:50

Re: Amsterdam M5

Post by perfecttrains1000 »

Very nice :D
- Likes London Underground
- Somehow relates anything to trains
Post Reply