Frequently asked questions (Read before starting new topic!)

General discussions

Moderators: senjer, Tom

Post Reply

Did the FAQ help you solve your problem?

Yes
19
59%
No, the methode did not work
6
19%
No, my problem is not mentioned
7
22%
 
Total votes: 32

User avatar
MetroSimGermany
Posts: 326
Joined: 08 Mar 2016, 14:41
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Frequently asked questions (Read before starting new topic!)

Post by MetroSimGermany » 31 Dec 2016, 08:57

Image
Theres some questions that pop up again and again on the forum, and new users often don't know about the answers, so I decided to compile a list that should answer a lot of those common questions so you get your answer faster and we don't get yet another new thread on a already answered question 8-)

Also friendly reminder: Please use the forum search even if your question isnt listed here before starting a new topic

↴ Game does not work ↴

Q: The installer is corrupt/broken, please obtain a new copy
A: Do as told: redownload and retry. Often there is a fault with browsers not downloading the full file and leaving it corrupted or too much traffic on the servers causing a disconnection and leaving the file incomplete. Try different browsers/download times.

Q: api-ms-win-crt-runtime-l1-1-0.dll is missing
A: Did you run the .exe installer in full? It should install the Microsof C++ Libraries Distributable. These are nessecary to run the game

Q: "SimulatorBeta.exe / MetroSimulator 0.5 BETA 3.10 has stopped working" when starting the game
A: Download the compadability package for old Direct X Versions from https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downloa ... px?id=8109

Q: Other DLL is missing or does not work
A: Download the OpenAL Audio Library. Its also required to run the game

Q: Windows Smart Screen can't be reached right now
A: Click on more and start program

↴ General Questions about the game ↴

Q: Is there a 32-Bit Version?
A: No, there isn´t. That has to do with the fact that Versions above 3.10 just need a lot more resources than 3.9

Q: How do I change the graphical settings?
A: Use the search function to find the program called Metro Simulator Setup which will allow you to alter these settings
Image

Q: AI trains only open some of their doors
A: This is a new intended feature

Q: Simvliet 2013 and 2017 are missing
A: Because these feature no night mode, they were removed from 3.10

↴ Other questions ↴

Q: Where is the Editor/When will it be released
A: The Editor is not public and only available to a few users at this moment, and it will not be released in the near future.
Yes I know you all want to start creating routes for MetroSim, but the editor how it is now is not very user friendly.

Q: When will the next version come out
A: This is a freeware game created as a hobby, please refrain from asking when this or that will be released

Q: The manuals are missing
A: You can find them here: http://sim.bemined.nl/wiki/Readme

Q: Where do the trams come from?
A: The trams you can find in MetroSim are of russian origin, made by an Author on SketchUp who allowed it to be used in MetroSim. Sjoerd converted the trams to work in MetroSim
Image

Q: Who made this?
A: Michiel is the creator of the game and the Simvliet network, Rijndam was created by Sjoerd Ydema

Q: Is there a place to discuss about public transport and the game quicker than the good ol' forum?
A: Check out the CentralStation Discord server here: https://discord.gg/3QJ2SSN

And probably the most important rule: if for whatever reason it does not work, and you are seeking help, you must always:
- Mention it if you did not use the official installer but a third party zip file.
- Mention your operating system: right-click on 'my computer' and go to 'properties', mention both version and system type (64-bit or not).
- Mention your computer specifications, in particular processor and videocard: go to start and enter 'dxdiag', first tab should mention processor, second tab videocard.
Without this no support can be provided.


As it appears that multiple users are having the "file broken/corrupted" issue and a file of a smaller size than the actual file, please first check that the file is coming from sim.bemined.nl.
If it does, try runing a MD5 check on it. The website http://onlinemd5.com/ can be useful for that. I got the following MD5 hash out of a working Beta312.exe installer (184,531,064 Bytes):
12064057952CE961BF8AD63D6D8D1CD2
If you still got the problem after multiple redownloads, its likely related to your internet connection being to slow, although trying at different times and with different browsers might help.
Happy Metrosimming and drive safe, Mika
Changelog
~Complete redo of the old FAQ post~
25.10.2017
Last edited by MetroSimGermany on 29 Oct 2017, 22:49, edited 13 times in total.
Support auf Deutsch? Kein Problem! Ich helfe gerne per PM. ;)
Image
discord.io/trains

User avatar
LosAngelesMetro56
Posts: 645
Joined: 03 Oct 2015, 19:11
Location: Los Angeles, California, USA
Contact:

Re: BETA 3.10 FAQ (Read before starting new topic!)

Post by LosAngelesMetro56 » 31 Dec 2016, 09:24

Some people just ignored the AI door feature completely
Lmao
Want to talk about signals? Stop by: http://www.rxrsignals.com

User avatar
Sjoerd
Posts: 2383
Joined: 26 Dec 2014, 21:14
Location: Leiden

Re: BETA 3.10 FAQ (Read before starting new topic!)

Post by Sjoerd » 31 Dec 2016, 09:45

The problems with the Rijndam Comic-con activity and AI-Weekday activity have been solved. I am stil trying to find the fault in the M4 activity.
I will post an activity update when I find the problem. ;)
CEO of the Rijndam Electrical Transport company :D

User avatar
MetroSimGermany
Posts: 326
Joined: 08 Mar 2016, 14:41
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: BETA 3.10 FAQ (Read before starting new topic!)

Post by MetroSimGermany » 31 Dec 2016, 10:09

@Sjoerd: Updated
@Michiel: Updated
Last edited by MetroSimGermany on 31 Dec 2016, 10:20, edited 1 time in total.
Support auf Deutsch? Kein Problem! Ich helfe gerne per PM. ;)
Image
discord.io/trains

User avatar
Michiel
Site Admin
Posts: 1444
Joined: 11 Sep 2011, 13:32

Re: BETA 3.10 FAQ (Read before starting new topic!)

Post by Michiel » 31 Dec 2016, 10:15

And probably the most important rule: if for whatever reason it does not work, and you are seeking help, you must always:
- Mention it if you did not use the official installer but a third party zip file.
- Mention your operating system: right-click on 'my computer' and go to 'properties', mention both version and system type (64-bit or not).
- Mention your computer specifications, in particular processor and videocard: go to start and enter 'dxdiag', first tab should mention processor, second tab videocard.
Without this no support can be provided.

midom5
Posts: 74
Joined: 09 Oct 2014, 22:16

Re: BETA 3.10 FAQ (Read before starting new topic!)

Post by midom5 » 31 Dec 2016, 11:04

Michiel wrote:And probably the most important rule: if for whatever reason it does not work, and you are seeking help, you must always:
- Mention it if you did not use the official installer but a third party zip file.
- Mention your operating system: right-click on 'my computer' and go to 'properties', mention both version and system type (64-bit or not).
- Mention your computer specifications, in particular processor and videocard: go to start and enter 'dxdiag', first tab should mention processor, second tab videocard.
Without this no support can be provided.



i have laptop and it dont installed 64 bit plz can u maaked beta 3.10 32 bit ?

User avatar
Alfacinha315
Posts: 474
Joined: 16 Sep 2016, 14:20

Re: BETA 3.10 FAQ (Read before starting new topic!)

Post by Alfacinha315 » 31 Dec 2016, 11:06

May I use some activities from 3.9 (like Express Line C) on 3.10, in Simvliet 2020 route?
Cheers from Lisbon, the capital city of Portugal.

Trains are my favourite addiction! :D "Na entrada para os comboios, atenção à distância entre as portas e a plataforma".

Image

User avatar
MetroSimGermany
Posts: 326
Joined: 08 Mar 2016, 14:41
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: BETA 3.10 FAQ (Read before starting new topic!)

Post by MetroSimGermany » 31 Dec 2016, 11:08

Michiel already answered this question. He said no, because 32 Bit PC are to laggy anyways if they would get 3.10. And as good retro gaming and Windows XP is, you need to go with the time. If you dont like Windows 10, there are also rare 64 Bit versions of XP and Win 7. Please stop spamming this question all over the forum. Thanks.

@Alfacinha315: Your qeustion was already answered as well. Please use the forum search.
Support auf Deutsch? Kein Problem! Ich helfe gerne per PM. ;)
Image
discord.io/trains

User avatar
Sjoerd
Posts: 2383
Joined: 26 Dec 2014, 21:14
Location: Leiden

Re: BETA 3.10 FAQ (Read before starting new topic!)

Post by Sjoerd » 31 Dec 2016, 11:09

The update for de Rijndam activities can be found here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=814&p=10851#p10851
CEO of the Rijndam Electrical Transport company :D

User avatar
Alfacinha315
Posts: 474
Joined: 16 Sep 2016, 14:20

Re: BETA 3.10 FAQ (Read before starting new topic!)

Post by Alfacinha315 » 31 Dec 2016, 11:44

Many thanks. Yesterday I downloaded the game, but can't find the folder with the consist. Is that normal? In Beta 3.9 this didn't happened...

EDIT: problem solved thanks to sjoerd post in Rijndam thread. Many thanks, sorry the confusion...
Cheers from Lisbon, the capital city of Portugal.

Trains are my favourite addiction! :D "Na entrada para os comboios, atenção à distância entre as portas e a plataforma".

Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests