Arend Steam Railway

General discussions

Moderators: senjer, Tom

User avatar
Sjoerd
Posts: 2566
Joined: 26 Dec 2014, 21:14
Location: Leiden

Re: Arend Steam Railway

Post by Sjoerd » 31 Dec 2017, 16:02

Alfacinha315 wrote:
31 Dec 2017, 15:57
Another question: like the HSM and MSG2P add-ons, will it be also possible to run this train in any network, running on Explore mode?
No. This is a broad gauge locomotive, so it can not run on normal gauge tracks.
Therefore, I have made no arrangements to make it available in other networks (unless you happen to know the XML names, just like with the freight train).
CEO of the Rijndam Electrical Transport company :D

User avatar
Sjoerd
Posts: 2566
Joined: 26 Dec 2014, 21:14
Location: Leiden

Re: Arend Steam Railway

Post by Sjoerd » 31 Dec 2017, 23:38

Happy 2018!!

Now that we are half an hour into 2018, here is my new year present, as announced earlier: https://we.tl/XJJYoDY0rG :D

Installation instruction;
-> unpack the *.zip file.
-> You will get a file called "ArendSteamRailway.000"
-> Add it to the folder where Beta312.000 and Simulator.exe are also located.
-> Start the simulator.
-> Enjoy! ;)
Last edited by Sjoerd on 08 Jan 2018, 17:19, edited 1 time in total.
CEO of the Rijndam Electrical Transport company :D

User avatar
Jim2016
Posts: 280
Joined: 04 Jan 2016, 14:42
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: Arend Steam Railway

Post by Jim2016 » 01 Jan 2018, 01:43

Arend steam trains at Simvliet Bergpark depot (magically floating above the ground...)

Image

Image

Image

User avatar
LosAngelesMetro56
Posts: 697
Joined: 03 Oct 2015, 19:11
Location: Los Angeles, California, USA
Contact:

Re: Arend Steam Railway

Post by LosAngelesMetro56 » 01 Jan 2018, 03:11

As I'm still stuck in 2017, I can't for anything. Like what @kinkisharyo stated, I can't wait neither. I've been thinking about a narrow gauge route but thats completely off topic.
Want to talk about signals? Stop by: http://www.rxrsignals.com/Phpbb3

User avatar
Sjoerd
Posts: 2566
Joined: 26 Dec 2014, 21:14
Location: Leiden

Re: Arend Steam Railway

Post by Sjoerd » 01 Jan 2018, 09:10

A little bit of extra information;
  • 1: Train driver view, foreward
  • 2: Train driver view, backward
  • 3: above locomotive
  • 4: Firemen/stoker view, foreward
  • 5: View from the tender
  • 6: Passenger view carriage 1
  • 7: Passenger view carriage 2
CEO of the Rijndam Electrical Transport company :D

User avatar
JeffT
Posts: 86
Joined: 03 Aug 2016, 18:48
Location: Sweden

Re: Arend Steam Railway

Post by JeffT » 01 Jan 2018, 15:36

Nice work Sjoerd!
Chame it's not a standard gauge train.
Please continue developing trains for Metro Simulator. I appreciate your work.
:)
Currently running Metro Simulator Beta on NVIDIA GeForce GT1030 2GB grafic card.

User avatar
Guille3604
Posts: 137
Joined: 01 Nov 2013, 10:32
Location: Spain, Valencia

Re: Arend Steam Railway

Post by Guille3604 » 01 Jan 2018, 17:37

Wait what? I thought Europe used 1.435mm for national railways? Or is the RET system metre gauge?

User avatar
Michiel
Site Admin
Posts: 1520
Joined: 11 Sep 2011, 13:32

Re: Arend Steam Railway

Post by Michiel » 01 Jan 2018, 17:49

Yeah, just not 175 years ago :P

User avatar
Sjoerd
Posts: 2566
Joined: 26 Dec 2014, 21:14
Location: Leiden

Re: Arend Steam Railway

Post by Sjoerd » 01 Jan 2018, 18:02

The first Railway in the Netherlands used 1935mm gauge. So this locomotive did too.
Later, when the railway grew in length and connection to the German railways became an issue, they decided to change the entire network to standard gauge (1435mm).
CEO of the Rijndam Electrical Transport company :D

User avatar
Guille3604
Posts: 137
Joined: 01 Nov 2013, 10:32
Location: Spain, Valencia

Re: Arend Steam Railway

Post by Guille3604 » 01 Jan 2018, 20:58

Sjoerd wrote:
01 Jan 2018, 18:02
The first Railway in the Netherlands used 1935mm gauge. So this locomotive did too.
Later, when the railway grew in length and connection to the German railways became an issue, they decided to change the entire network to standard gauge (1435mm).
Holy crap, isn't that Russian gauge? Although in Spain we use 1.668mm for national railways (except HST services).

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests