Arend Steam Railway

General discussions

Moderators: senjer, Tom

User avatar
Sjoerd
Posts: 2821
Joined: 26 Dec 2014, 21:14
Location: Leiden

Arend Steam Railway

Post by Sjoerd » 30 Dec 2017, 14:28

The last few days I have been working on a small route, using a train which was originally used as an easteregg feature to the Rijndam 2020 transport museum. But I had to take it out, as Rijndam 2020 had grown too large, and removing this item improved framerate on that entire network.
Now, I have made a few enhancements to it, and gave it it's own route. I present to you:

Image

The Arend was one of the first steam locomotives which ran between Amsterdam and Haarlem in 1839. The Dutch national railway museum in Utrecht has a fully functional replica of this locomotive, build in 1939 (https://youtu.be/ZmRmPdpFlho), but sadly, they can't really use it as it is a broad gauge locomotive (1935mm), so they can not drive very far (from the inside exhibition location to an outside platform and back).

In Metrosimulator, I have build a small circular fictional park railway, in broad gauge, with two stations.

Image

The train itself comes from username "Rubus" on the 3D Warehause database. I have given it a large revision to make it suitable for use in Metrosimulator, added animations, and build a route for it. ;)

To be available as an add-on in a few days time....
CEO of the Rijndam Electrical Transport company :D

User avatar
luka23
Posts: 292
Joined: 17 Apr 2013, 19:41

Re: Arend Steam Railway

Post by luka23 » 30 Dec 2017, 14:52

What? This is insanely cool! I love how this sim is expanding more and more!
Op oude forum LukRacer...
Iemand een '57 Gibson Les Paul Custom gevonden vlakbij Alexanderpark?

User avatar
MP 85
Posts: 330
Joined: 02 Jan 2017, 16:11
Location: France

Re: Arend Steam Railway

Post by MP 85 » 30 Dec 2017, 15:14

Good Work. Make way for the steam locomotive ;)
Image
Sorry to my bad langage (Google translate) :idea:
Sorry voor mijn slechte taal (Google translate)

User avatar
LosAngelesMetro56
Posts: 760
Joined: 03 Oct 2015, 19:11
Location: Los Angeles, California, USA
Contact:

Re: Arend Steam Railway

Post by LosAngelesMetro56 » 31 Dec 2017, 00:14

We can no longer this "Metro Simulator" anymore :lol:
Want to talk about signals? Stop by: http://www.rxrsignals.com/Phpbb3

User avatar
Sjoerd
Posts: 2821
Joined: 26 Dec 2014, 21:14
Location: Leiden

Re: Arend Steam Railway

Post by Sjoerd » 31 Dec 2017, 00:23

LosAngelesMetro56 wrote:
31 Dec 2017, 00:14
We can no longer this "Metro Simulator" anymore :lol:
This is just a mini project. I'll get back to metro's after this. And due to the broad gauge, using this train om the metro routes is not an option. ;)
CEO of the Rijndam Electrical Transport company :D

kinkisharyo
Posts: 115
Joined: 04 Aug 2014, 13:03
Location: Hong Kong

Re: Arend Steam Railway

Post by kinkisharyo » 31 Dec 2017, 12:12

Wish I could make a route too, hope Michel can release the Editor soon

User avatar
Guille3604
Posts: 148
Joined: 01 Nov 2013, 10:32
Location: Spain, Valencia

Re: Arend Steam Railway

Post by Guille3604 » 31 Dec 2017, 13:51

Darn, I want those plugins, I have some japanese trains waiting on the line too! xD

User avatar
Alfacinha315
Posts: 563
Joined: 16 Sep 2016, 14:20

Re: Arend Steam Railway

Post by Alfacinha315 » 31 Dec 2017, 14:11

Great job Sjoerd! ;) Can we see more screenshots of this project? Will this add-on will be updated in the next version, or this will also be compatible with 3.12?
Cheers from Lisbon, the capital city of Portugal.

Trains are my favourite addiction! :D "Na entrada para os comboios, atenção à distância entre as portas e a plataforma".

Image

User avatar
Sjoerd
Posts: 2821
Joined: 26 Dec 2014, 21:14
Location: Leiden

Re: Arend Steam Railway

Post by Sjoerd » 31 Dec 2017, 15:06

Alfacinha315 wrote:
31 Dec 2017, 14:11
Great job Sjoerd! ;) Can we see more screenshots of this project? Will this add-on will be updated in the next version, or this will also be compatible with 3.12?
Sure;

Image

Image

It has been tested and works with 3.12.
CEO of the Rijndam Electrical Transport company :D

User avatar
Alfacinha315
Posts: 563
Joined: 16 Sep 2016, 14:20

Re: Arend Steam Railway

Post by Alfacinha315 » 31 Dec 2017, 15:57

Thanks. ;)

Another question: like the HSM and MSG2P add-ons, will it be also possible to run this train in any network, running on Explore mode?
Cheers from Lisbon, the capital city of Portugal.

Trains are my favourite addiction! :D "Na entrada para os comboios, atenção à distância entre as portas e a plataforma".

Image

Post Reply