Glasgow

General discussions

Moderators: senjer, Tom

User avatar
Sjoerd
Posts: 3183
Joined: 26 Dec 2014, 21:14
Location: Leiden

Re: Glasgow

Post by Sjoerd » 11 Jun 2018, 07:00

Jerome94 wrote:
10 Jun 2018, 23:10
Is there anyway to get trains to run empty from the depot to St Enoch to start a service like they do in real life please?
Just make a new activity. Instructions on how to do that are on the wiki, and it has been asked many times on the forum before.

But running empty on a line such as this would not at all be efficient; as subsidies on public transport are related to in-service running, closing a trip to passengers isn't only costly in missing out on passenger fares, but also in exploitation subsidies. And as long as you are running past the stations anyway on route to St Enoch, it isn't much of an effort to take passengers along.

You can see that in Amsterdam too; although the tram depot Havenstraat is not next to a tram end-of-line, the trams depart start taking passengers on board as soon as they reach the first intermediate stop on the line they'll be running on. ;)
CEO of the Rijndam Electrical Transport company :D

User avatar
Jim2016
Posts: 440
Joined: 04 Jan 2016, 14:42
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: Glasgow

Post by Jim2016 » 11 Jun 2018, 10:52

Jerome94 wrote:
10 Jun 2018, 23:10
Is there anyway to get trains to run empty from the depot to St Enoch to start a service like they do in real life please?
Sjoerd wrote:
11 Jun 2018, 07:00
You can see that in Amsterdam too; although the tram depot Havenstraat is not next to a tram end-of-line, the trams depart start taking passengers on board as soon as they reach the first intermediate stop on the line they'll be running on. ;)
The same happens in Athens. Despite the nearest terminal to be in Anthoupoli, the trains coming from the depot start service towards the other terminal from Sepolia station which is the nearest to the depot.

Only trains who are transfered from one depot to the other (which need maintanance) are empty.

User avatar
Jim2016
Posts: 440
Joined: 04 Jan 2016, 14:42
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: Glasgow

Post by Jim2016 » 03 Sep 2018, 21:37

For anyone interested

User avatar
Sjoerd
Posts: 3183
Joined: 26 Dec 2014, 21:14
Location: Leiden

Re: Glasgow

Post by Sjoerd » 13 Oct 2018, 20:54

A small "upgrade" at Bridge Street; the tracks have come closer together for more realism, and the platform has been adjusted for a better connection to the new rolling stock;

Image
CEO of the Rijndam Electrical Transport company :D

User avatar
Sjoerd
Posts: 3183
Joined: 26 Dec 2014, 21:14
Location: Leiden

Re: Glasgow

Post by Sjoerd » 14 Oct 2018, 20:09

Testing how it does in activities.... (and testing the train systems themselves)

Image
CEO of the Rijndam Electrical Transport company :D

Piccadilly
Posts: 14
Joined: 04 Sep 2018, 18:15

Re: Glasgow

Post by Piccadilly » 15 Oct 2018, 16:15

Sjoerd wrote:
14 Oct 2018, 20:09
Testing how it does in activities.... (and testing the train systems themselves)

Image
Looking Great Sjoerd! :D

User avatar
Sjoerd
Posts: 3183
Joined: 26 Dec 2014, 21:14
Location: Leiden

Re: Glasgow

Post by Sjoerd » 16 Oct 2018, 16:55

One disadvantage with renovating Glasgow Subway stations for the correct (smaller) rolling stock.... The Glasgow-style LU'73 stock won't fit anymore :D
(The screenshot below was taken at Kinning Park)

But anyway; the real Glasgow rolling stock offers much more possibilities on this network then the '73 stock; you can drive in 2 or 3 car units (which can consist of either 3 motorcars or 2 motorcars and a trailercar in between), and with three different livery's (which you can also mix, as you don't have to drive with fixed coupled carnumbers). :D
Attachments
Glasgow_039.jpg
Glasgow_039.jpg (210.87 KiB) Viewed 145 times
CEO of the Rijndam Electrical Transport company :D

DaanSGMm
Posts: 75
Joined: 23 Jan 2018, 16:10
Location: Maassluis (NL)

Re: Glasgow

Post by DaanSGMm » 17 Oct 2018, 14:14

Sjoerd wrote:
16 Oct 2018, 16:55
One disadvantage with renovating Glasgow Subway stations for the correct (smaller) rolling stock.... The Glasgow-style LU'73 stock won't fit anymore :D
(The screenshot below was taken at Kinning Park)

But anyway; the real Glasgow rolling stock offers much more possibilities on this network then the '73 stock; you can drive in 2 or 3 car units (which can consist of either 3 motorcars or 2 motorcars and a trailercar in between), and with three different livery's (which you can also mix, as you don't have to drive with fixed coupled carnumbers). :D
Forget this stock, the new looks way better!
hello there :)

User avatar
Sjoerd
Posts: 3183
Joined: 26 Dec 2014, 21:14
Location: Leiden

Re: Glasgow

Post by Sjoerd » 17 Oct 2018, 14:25

DaanSGMm wrote:
17 Oct 2018, 14:14
Forget this stock, the new looks way better!
I agree :)
Also a nice feature; as the Glasgow rolling stock does not have driver cabin doors on the sides of the vehicle, I could use the special animation options for the front door and the door to the passenger compartment instead. So if you want, you can simulate a passenger evacuation scenario while stopped in between stations :D
CEO of the Rijndam Electrical Transport company :D

User avatar
MattGames
Posts: 20
Joined: 15 Jul 2017, 12:43
Contact:

Re: Glasgow

Post by MattGames » 17 Oct 2018, 14:58

Sjoerd wrote:
17 Oct 2018, 14:25
DaanSGMm wrote:
17 Oct 2018, 14:14
Forget this stock, the new looks way better!
I agree :)
Also a nice feature; as the Glasgow rolling stock does not have driver cabin doors on the sides of the vehicle, I could use the special animation options for the front door and the door to the passenger compartment instead. So if you want, you can simulate a passenger evacuation scenario while stopped in between stations :D
Ooo, now that would be lovely! A very good idea Sjoerd :D
Cheers from Finland :D Hope everyone that sees this has a great day!
Tuu Suomeen, täällä on hauskaa (talvisin)

Post Reply