Page 1 of 2

Train Reversal Error

Posted: 07 Jun 2017, 03:56
by zefunman
Before I say anything, I may be early on this, but line M6 hype for Rijndam 2020!

I am currently having a problem with the AI_Weekday activity in Rijndam 2018, which was one of the original activities included in the installation. For some reason every once in a while a train entering Transferium Rijndijk on line M2 will enter the station, and fail to stop directly where the train marker is. Also since it's operated by the AI, the train doors will not open (even though all the doors make it onto the platform), and the cabin won't switch off, meaning that the train can't reverse and head back to Monument.

I've tried to see what was causing the problem, and I found out that every once in a while the train will enter, and instead of receiving a yellow 20 signal, it would receive the yellow signal, which only activates if the switch ahead is not set. So the AI misinterprets it, and does not clear the buzzer, so it can't stop at the marker, and then a traffic jam occurs. I think it's a bug, but I'm not sure, since I've only tested it on the custom scenario I made. Basically it's the AI_Weekday activity, but I made all M2 and M3 trains SG2's, so that might be the problem, but I did the same thing with another activity, where I ported over the AI_Weekday activity from Rijndam 2016 to Rijndam 2018, and again the trains would have the same problem, except it only happened in Rijnland Ziekenhuis.

If anyone wants me to upload the file, I can do so, but otherwise, is it just me, or does it occur with other people running Beta 3.11?

Re: Train Reversal Error

Posted: 07 Jun 2017, 08:05
by Sjoerd
I could take a look at it (if you send the file), but you have to be more specific; At what exact time do you see it happening, and what train number is it happening to?

Re: Train Reversal Error

Posted: 08 Jun 2017, 21:56
by zefunman
For some reason the forum is not letting me post the files, because they have an invalid extension, but nevertheless I have posted the code for the .act and .ctd files down in the next post.

The trains at Transferium Rijndijk seem to exhibit this bug at random, as when I tested it the bug seemed to occur at anytime, and the trains were random. They also exhibited it regardless of what platform the train stopped at. I don't know if that happens without me running the simulation at x256 speed, but maybe that has to do with the problem.

What I did notice was that the trains stopped just short of the blue diamond with the number 3 on it, since they were 3-car consists, so it likely has to do with how the AI does not deactivate the buzzer when the signal is at 10 km/h.

Also the bug only seemed to work on Beta 3.11. When I ran 3.10 the trains were able to stop correctly, so I'm guessing it has to do with the update pertaining to how the AI works.

Re: Train Reversal Error

Posted: 08 Jun 2017, 22:07
by zefunman
So I mentioned above that I couldn't attach the file, and it turns out I could attach .rar files, so I have done so below.

Re: Train Reversal Error

Posted: 10 Jun 2017, 14:06
by Sjoerd
zefunman wrote:
08 Jun 2017, 21:56
I don't know if that happens without me running the simulation at x256 speed, but maybe that has to do with the problem.
Perhaps that is it. Personally, I never run the simulation above 32x real speed. I have just run your activity well past the morning rush hours, and I never observed the problem you describe.

Re: Train Reversal Error

Posted: 10 Jun 2017, 14:23
by VirtualGamer
I can't unzip the file!

Re: Train Reversal Error

Posted: 10 Jun 2017, 16:07
by zefunman
Sjoerd wrote:
10 Jun 2017, 14:06

Perhaps that is it. Personally, I never run the simulation above 32x real speed. I have just run your activity well past the morning rush hours, and I never observed the problem you describe.
Ah, thanks. I guess I'll see if I run it at X32, and then I'll reply with the results of my test.

Re: Train Reversal Error

Posted: 11 Jun 2017, 20:30
by zefunman
So I have tested the route at x32 speed, and I found out that the same glitch had occurred at Rijnland Ziekenhuis. However, I have taken some screenshots of the incident, but the only problem with that is that I can't attach it, because the file would otherwise be too big. In order for me to this I would have to shrink the image to a very small resolution. Are there any other ways to share the images I have detailing the bug?

Re: Train Reversal Error

Posted: 11 Jun 2017, 20:35
by zefunman
VirtualGamer wrote:
10 Jun 2017, 14:23
I can't unzip the file!
Oops. :D

I have attached the files, but as a zip file instead. Maybe that'll work?

Re: Train Reversal Error

Posted: 11 Jun 2017, 20:37
by MP 85
zefunman wrote:
11 Jun 2017, 20:30
I have taken some screenshots of the incident, but the only problem with that is that I can't attach it, because the file would otherwise be too big. In order for me to this I would have to shrink the image to a very small resolution. Are there any other ways to share the images I have detailing the bug?
Try to save your image in .JPEG format. ;)